HKOI 2021/22

This year, the Heat Event will be held on 13th November 2021 (Saturday) and the Final Event will be held on 18th December 2021 (Saturday).

In the competition, contestants are divided into two groups, namely the Junior Group and the Senior Group, depending on their age. In the Heat Event, contestants will have to complete a written paper of 90 minutes’ duration. In the Final Event, they will take a practical test in which they have to write programs to solve the given problems.

Individual prizes are awarded in Gold, Silver and Bronze medals, Honourable Mentions, as well as the Best Young Contestant and the Best First-Time Contestant. Grand School Prizes are awarded to the three schools with the highest points. Medalists will be invited to join the HKOI Training Team for intensive training. They will also be eligible to participate in the Team Formation Tests in which delegations are selected to represent Hong Kong in international/national/regional competitions.

Introduction to HKOI Presentation (pdf)


HKOI only accepts nominations through schools. Please contact your school’s ICT subject master or teacher-in-charge to apply. Please read the rules before applying.

Proceed to “Join HKOI” Nomination System

Please refer to the presentation for step-by-step instructions: (Google Slides / PDF Version)

Application Deadline: 1st November, 2021 (Monday) 23:59:59.

This year, social distancing measures are enforced that the Heat Event venues can only hold a total of 300 students in each group. Nominations will be accepted on a first-come-first-serve basis*. Schools are strongly encouraged to submit their nomination forms early, so that the organizing committee can attempt to secure additional competition venues when shortage is imminent.

The tentative list of accepted schools will be posted on 4th November, 2021 (Thursday).

*According to the submission time provided that the form with signatures and school chop has been uploaded. If the form is amended after submission, additions, replacements and students with changed group will have their queue position reset to the end.

List of participating schools

Number of nominated students
Senior Group: 289
Junior Group: 321

Aberdeen Baptist Lui Ming Choi College
Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School
Buddhist Sin Tak College
Carmel Holy Word Secondary School
Carmel Pak U Secondary School
Carmel Secondary School
CCC Ming Yin College
CCC Mong Man Wai College
Chan Sui Ki (La Salle) College
Cheung Chuk Shan College
Chinese International School
Chiu Lut Sau Memorial Secondary School
Christian & Missionary Alliance Sun Kei Secondary School
Christian Alliance S C Chan Memorial College
CNEC Lau Wing Sang Secondary School
Diocesan Boys’ School
Diocesan Girls’ School
Evangel College
French International School of Hong Kong
Fukien Secondary School
German Swiss International School
Harrow International School Hong Kong
HKBUAS Wong Kam Fai Secondary and Primary School
HKTA Tang Hin Memorial Secondary School
Ho Lap College (Sponsored by Sik Sik Yuen)
Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School
Hong Kong Chinese Women’s Club College
Hong Kong International School
Hong Kong Tang King Po College
International Christian School
Kiangsu-Chekiang College (Shatin)
King George V School
King Ling college
Kowloon Tong School (Secondary Section)
Kwun Tong Government Secondary School
Kwun Tong Maryknoll College
La Salle College
Lai King Catholic Secondary School
Malvern College Hong Kong
Maryknoll Convent School (Secondary Section)
Munsang College
Munsang College (Hong Kong Island)
N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School
P.O.H. Tang Pui King Memorial College
Po Leung Kuk Laws Foundation College
Po Leung Kuk Tang Yuk Tien College
Pui Ching Middle School
Pui Kiu College
Pui Shing Catholic Secondary School
Queen’s College
Renaissance College
Sha Tin College
Sha Tin Methodist College
Shatin Tsung Tsin Secondary School
Sing Yin Secondary School
SKH Lam Kau Mow Secondary School
SKH Lam Woo Memorial Secondary School
SKH Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School
South Tuen Mun Government Secondary School
St. Joseph’s College
St. Margaret’s Co-educational English Secondary and Primary School
St. Mark’s School
St. Paul’s Co-educational College
St. Paul’s College
St. Stephen’s Girls’ College
STFA Tam Pak Yu College
STFA Yung Yau College
Tai Kwong Hilary College
Tang King Po School
The Chinese Foundation Secondary School
The Independent Schools Foundation Academy
Tseung Kwan O Government Secondary School
Tsuen Wan Government Secondary School
Tsung Tsin Christian Academy
TWGHs Kap Yan Directors’ College
TWGHs Wong Fut Nam College
Wah Yan College, Hong Kong
Wah Yan College, Kowloon
Yan Oi Tong Tin Ka Ping Secondary School
Yew Chung International School
Ying Wa Girls’ School
YLPMSAA Tang Siu Tong Secondary School
YMCA of Hong Kong Christian College
YPICA Lee Lim Ming College
Yu Chun Keung Memorial College
Yuen Long Public Secondary School