HKOI 2019/20

This year, the Heat Event will be held on 2nd November 2019 (Saturday).

In the competition, contestants are divided into two groups, namely the Junior Group and the Senior Group, depending on their age. In the Heat Event, contestants will have to complete a written paper of 90 minutes’ duration. In the Final Event, they will take a practical test in which they have to write programs to solve the given problems.

Individual prizes are awarded in Gold, Silver and Bronze, as well as the Best Young Contestant and the Best First-Time Contestant. Grand School Prizes are awarded to the three schools with the highest points. Medalists will be invited to join the HKOI Training Team for intensive training. They will also be eligible to participate in the Team Formation Tests in which delegations are selected to represent Hong Kong in international/national/regional competitions.

All nominated students may consider their applications successful unless they are otherwise informed by the Organizing Committee. Schools should remind the nominated student(s) to attend the competition as scheduled. The tentative list of participating schools will be posted on 24th October, 2019 (Thursday).

Introduction to HKOI Presentation (2018 version, pdf)


HKOI only accept nominations through schools. Please contact your school’s ICT subject master or teacher-in-charge to apply.

Proceed to “Join HKOI” Nomination System

Please refer to the presentation for step-by-step instructions: (Google Slides / PDF Version)

Application Deadline: 21st October, 2019 (Monday) 23:59:59.

Schools wishing to nominate students, who are members of the 2019 HKOI Training Team, through the HKACE should contact the committee by email for nomination procedures. These students would NOT be counted as members of the school team and hence their scores would not contribute to the school score.

List of participating schools

American International School
Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School
Carmel Holy Word Secondary School
Carmel Secondary School
CCC Ming Kei College
CCC Ming Yin College
CCC Mong Man Wai College
Chan Sui Ki (La Salle) College
Cheung Chuk Shan College
Cheung Sha Wan Catholic Secondary School
Chinese International School
Christian Alliance Cheng Wing Gee College
Christian Alliance S C Chan Memorial College
Cognitio College (Kowloon)
Diocesan Boys’ School
Diocesan Girls’ School
Discovery College
Evangel College
Fukien Secondary School
German Swiss International School
Harrow International School Hong Kong
HKBUAS Wong Kam Fai Secondary and Primary School
HKFYG Lee Shau Kee College
HKTA Tang Hin Memorial Secondary School
HKUGA College
Ho Fung College (Sponsored by Sik Sik Yuen)
Ho Lap College (Sponsored by Sik Sik Yuen)
Hong Kong Chinese Women’s Club College
Hong Kong International School
Kiangsu-Chekiang College (Shatin)
King George V School
Kwun Tong Maryknoll College
La Salle College
Lai King Catholic Secondary School
N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School
NLSI Peace Evangelical Secondary School
Po Leung Kuk Laws Foundation College
Po Leung Kuk No.1 W.H. Cheung College
Po Leung Kuk Tang Yuk Tien College
Pui Ching Middle School
Queen’s College
Sha Tin Methodist College
Shatin Tsung Tsin Secondary School
Sing Yin Secondary School
SKH Lam Kau Mow Secondary School
SKH Lam Woo Memorial Secondary School
SKH Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School
South Tuen Mun Government Secondary School
St. Francis Xavier’s College
St. Joseph’s College
St. Paul’s College
St. Stephen’s Girls’ College
Stewards Pooi Kei College
STFA Leung Kau Kui College
STFA Yung Yau College
Tai Po Sam Yuk Secondary School
The Chinese Foundation Secondary School
The ISF Academy
Tin Ka Ping Secondary School
Tseung Kwan O Government Secondary School
Tsuen Wan Government Secondary School
Tsung Tsin Christian Academy
TWGHs Kap Yan Directors’ College
TWGHs Wong Fut Nam College
Victoria Shanghai Academy
Wah Yan College, Hong Kong
Wah Yan College, Kowloon
Yan Oi Tong Tin Ka Ping Secondary School
Ying Wa Girls’ School
Yuen Long Merchants Association Secondary School