Clarification (8th October, 2018)

Rules regarding the nomination of students through the HKACE have been updated. Only students who are members of the 2018 HKOI Training Team may be nominated though the HKACE.

HKOI 2018/19

This year, the Heat Event will be held on 3rd November 2018 (Saturday) and the Final Event on 8th December 2018 (Saturday).

In the competition, contestants are divided into two groups, namely the Junior Group and the Senior Group, depending on their age. In the Heat Event, contestants will have to complete a written paper of 90 minutes’ duration. In the Final Event, they will take a practical test in which they have to write programs to solve the given problems.

Individual prizes are awarded in Gold, Silver and Bronze, as well as the Best Young Contestant and the Best First-Time Contestant. Grand School Prizes are awarded to the three schools with the highest points. Medalists will be invited to join the HKOI Training Team for intensive training. They will also be eligible to participate in the Team Formation Tests in which delegations are selected to represent Hong Kong in international/national/regional competitions.

All nominated students may consider their applications successful unless they are otherwise informed by the Organizing Committee. Schools should remind the nominated student(s) to attend the competition as scheduled. The tentative list of participating schools will be posted on 26th October, 2018 (Friday).

Introduction to HKOI Presentation (pdf)


HKOI only accept nominations through schools. Please contact your school’s ICT subject master or teacher-in-charge to apply.

Proceed to “Join HKOI” Nomination System

Please refer to the presentation for step-by-step instructions: (Google Slides / PDF Version)

Application Deadline: 22nd October, 2018 (Monday) 23:59:59.

Schools wishing to nominate students, who are members of the 2018 HKOI Training Team, through the HKACE should contact the committee by email for nomination procedures. These students would NOT be counted as members of the school team and hence their scores would not contribute to the school score.

List of participating schools (as of 21st October 23:59)

Aberdeen Baptist Lui Ming Choi College
Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School
Buddhist Sin Tak College
CCC Ming Yin College
CCC Mong Man Wai College
Chan Sui Ki (La Salle) College
CNEC Christian College
Diocesan Boys’ School
Diocesan Girls’ School
Discovery College
Elegantia College (Sponsored by Education Convergence)
Evangel College
HHCKLA Buddhist Leung Chik Wai College
HKBUAS Wong Kam Fai Secondary and Primary School
HKUGA College
Ho Fung College (Sponsored by Sik Sik Yuen)
Ho Lap College (Sponsored by Sik Sik Yuen)
Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School
King George V School
King’s College
La Salle College
N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School
Po Leung Kuk Choi Kai Yau School
Po Leung Kuk Laws Foundation College
Po Leung Kuk Ngan Po Ling College
Po Leung Kuk No.1 W.H. Cheung College
Po Leung Kuk Tang Yuk Tien College
Pui Ching Middle School
Sha Tin Methodist College
Shatin Tsung Tsin Secondary School
Sing Yin Secondary School
SKH Bishop Mok Sau Tseng Secondary School
SKH Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School
St. Francis Xavier’s College
Stewards Pooi Kei College
STFA Lee Shau Kee College
The Y.W.C.A. Hioe Tjo Yoeng College
Tung Chung Catholic School
TWGHs Kap Yan Directors’ College
TWGHs Mrs Wu York Yu Memorial College
TWGHs Wong Fut Nam College
Yan Oi Tong Tin Ka Ping Secondary School
Ying Wa College
Ying Wa Girls’ School