HKOI 2017/18

This year, the Heat Event will be held on 4th November 2017 (Saturday) and the Final Event on 9th December 2017 (Saturday).

In the competition, contestants are divided into two groups, namely the Junior Group and the Senior Group, depending on their age. In the Heat Event, contestants will have to complete a written paper of 90 minutes’ duration. In the Final Event, they will take a practical test in which they have to write programs to solve the given problems.

Individual prizes are awarded in Gold, Silver and Bronze, as well as the Best Young Contestant and the Best First-Time Contestant. Grand School Prizes are awarded to the three schools with the highest points. Medalists will be invited to join the HKOI Training Team for intensive training. They will also be eligible to participate in the Team Formation Tests in which delegations are selected to represent Hong Kong in international/national/regional competitions.

Introduction to HKOI Presentation (pdf)


HKOI only accept nominations through schools. Please contact your school’s ICT subject master or teacher-in-charge to apply.

Proceed to “Join HKOI” Nomination System

Please refer to the presentation for step-by-step instructions: (Google Slides / PDF Version)

Application Deadline: 23rd October, 2017 (Monday) 23:59:59.

All nominated students may consider their applications successful unless they are otherwise informed by the Organizing Committee. Schools should remind the nominated student(s) to attend the competition as scheduled. The tentative list of participating schools will be posted on 26th October, 2017 (Thursday).

Schools wishing to nominate students, who won an individual prize in previous year’s HKOI, through the HKACE should contact the committee by email for nomination procedures. These students would NOT be counted as members of the school team and hence their scores would not contribute to the school score.

List of participating schools

Aberdeen Baptist Lui Ming Choi College
Belilios Public School
Buddhist Tai Hung College
Carmel Holy Word Secondary School
Carmel Secondary School
CCC Mong Man Wai College
Chan Sui Ki (La Salle) College
Cheung Chuk Shan College
Cheung Sha Wan Catholic Secondary School
Chinese International School
Christian Alliance S C Chan Memorial College
Diocesan Boys’ School
Diocesan Girls’ School
Discovery College
Evangel College
FDBWA Szeto Ho Secondary School
Fukien Secondary School
Harrow International School Hong Kong
HKFYG Lee Shau Kee College
HKTA Tang Hin Memorial Secondary School
HKUGA College
Ho Fung College (Sponsored by Sik Sik Yuen)
Ho Yu College and Primary School (Sponsored by Sik Sik Yuen)
Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School
Homantin Government Secondary School
Hong Kong International School
King George V School
King’s College
Kwok Tak Seng Catholic Secondary School
Kwun Tong Government Secondary School
La Salle College
Lai King Catholic Secondary School
Law Ting Pong Secondary School
Lingnan Hang Yee Memorial Secondary School
Lok Sin Tong Ku Chiu Man Secondary School
Ma On Shan St. Joseph’s Secondary School
Mu Kuang English School
N.T. Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District Secondary School
NLSI Lui Kwok Pat Fong College
Pak Kau College
PLK Laws Foundation College
PLK Vicwood K. T. Chong Sixth Form College
Po Leung Kuk Centenary Li Shiu Chung Memorial College
Po Leung Kuk Ngan Po Ling College
Po Leung Kuk No.1 W.H. Cheung College
Po Leung Kuk Tang Yuk Tien College
Po Leung Kuk Tong Nai Kan Junior Secondary College
Po Leung Kuk Wu Chung College
Pui Ching Middle School
Pui Kiu College
Queen’s College
S.T.F.A. Leung Kau Kui College
Sha Tin Government Secondary School
Sha Tin Methodist College
Shatin Pui Ying College
Shatin Tsung Tsin Secondary School
Shau Kei Wan Government Secondary School
Sing Yin Secondary School
SKH Bishop Mok Sau Tseng Secondary School
SKH Holy Trinity Church Secondary School
SKH Lam Kau Mow Secondary School
SKH Lam Woo Memorial Secondary School
SKH Tsang Shiu Tim Secondary School
South Tuen Mun Government Secondary School
St. Francis Xavier’s College
St. Joseph’s College
St. Paul’s Co-educational College
St. Paul’s College
The Chinese Foundation Secondary School
Tin Ka Ping Secondary School
Tseung Kwan O Government Secondary School
Tsung Tsin Christian Academy
TWGHs Kap Yan Directors’ College
TWGHs Li Ka Shing College
TWGHs S.C.Gaw Memorial College
TWGHs Wong Fut Nam College
Yan Oi Tong Tin Ka Ping Secondary School
Ying Wa College
Ying Wa Girls’ School
Yu Chun Keung Memorial College